our people

Our People

Orokonui employs around 20 staff (10FTEs) including casual guides, education assistants and café workers. Staff are complemented by a strong team of volunteers who contribute more than 12,000 hours per year. 

Otago Natural History Trust

  • Colin Campbell-Hunt - chair
  • Ross Smith - treasurer
  • Tony Stewart
  • Marian Hobbs
  • Errol Nye
  • Kelvin Lloyd

Orokonui Foundation  

  • Colin Campbell-Hunt
  • Graham Crombie
  • Ross Smith
  • Sir Julian Smith

The Otago Natural History Trust acknowledges the mana whenua status of Kati Huirapa Runaka ki Puketeraki and the Runaka’s role as tangata tiaki in relation to the Orokonui Ecosanctuary.           

 Orokonui Business Board

  • Andrew Noone – chair
  • Alister Robinson – treasurer
  • Brendan Gray
  • Glenn Alexander
  • Colin Campbell-Hunt
  • Ross Smith
  • Tony Hunter